- Ticketsmore ↓
- Rides & Attractionsmore ↓
- Plan Your Visitmore ↓
- Group Infomore ↓
- Catered Eventsmore ↓
- About Quassymore ↓
- Media Roommore ↓
Quassy was not always the amusement park it is today. Native Americans once populated this large area. The Native Americans translated Lake Quassapaug to mean "Big Pond" or "Big Rock". In colonial days King George (1690-1770) granted one Abel Wheeler control of the lake. During this time a fisherman could rent a boat and leave his horse in a stall with plenty of hay for as little as 50¢ a day. Fisherman enjoyed the lake because they claimed that they caught fish by the buckets full.
By 1888, a man named Mr. Richards opened a Grove House. Clambakes became his specialty and only non-alcoholic drinks were sold.
In 1905, the sea wall was put in and the Wallace Hotel replaced Mr. Richard's Grove House. By 1908, a trolley line was put through Middlebury and Lake Quassapaug became a summer resort.
In 1937, three Waterbury businessmen, John Frantzis, Mike Leon, and George Terezakis, bought the property and formed Quassy. They soon added a picnic area, paddleboats and a carousel. Within the next few years a hot dog stand, a roller rink and a tearoom were added.
It was after World War II that Quassy established itself as an amusement park. Beginning in the late 1970s, new rides were added every year. The park has also designed its own clambake facilities and caters to business and organizational outings from 100 to 10,000.
Today, Quassy Amusement Park remains a unique family-oriented facility. We offer swimming, picnicking, a catering service, a huge family redemption arcade, Splash Away Bay water park and of course, more than 20 rides, including the award-winning Wooden Warrior roller coaster. Every year families can count on new attractions, new rides and most importantly, quality service.